Airport Transit Schengen visa 

Airport transit visa is a special permit to land on the Schengen territory for the purpose of changing the means of transport for the non-EU/EEA nationals. Airport transit visa allows the visa holder to stay on the Schengen region airport to take the flight to the non-Schengen destination without leaving the premises of the transit region set by the airport authorities.

Types of Schengen Transit Visa:

There are two types of Schengen transit visa:

  • Airport Transit Schengen Visa
  • Transit Schengen Visa for Sea Traveler

Who Needs To Apply for an Airport Schengen Transit Visa?

Only apply for it when you need to visit only one airport of the Schengen state to change your flight. People who are required to land on more than one Schengen country are not eligible for visa; instead, they need to go for regular Schengen visa.

Every flight that is conducted between the two Schengen countries is taken as the domestic flight; thus, a Schengen visa is accepted only when a person needs to visit more than two airports of two different Schengen states.

Also, if a person needs to go to any other city of the same Schengen country for the transit, in this scenario as well a Schengen visa is required instead of an Airport Schengen Transit visa.

Nationals of the following countries need to have the transit visa when landing on any state located in the Schengen region: Documents needed by a Canadian to enter the Schengen region


AfghanistanBangladeshDemocratic Republic of the Congo
PakistanSomaliaSri Lanka

These countries are not exempted by any state and their nationals necessarily need to have a visa. On the other hand, there are countries that have special requirements for other country passport holders to must have a transit visa when visiting their region.


Visa Issuing Schengen StateCountries whose nationals require a Schengen Airport Transit visa for the respective Schengen state
BelgiumDominican Republic, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Nepal, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria
Czech RepublicChad, Egypt, India, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Palestinians, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria,  Turkey, Turkmenistan, Yemen
FranceCameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte D’Ivoire, Dominican Republic, Guinea, Haiti, Mali, Mauritania, Palestinians, Philippines, Russia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria
GermanyIndia, Jordan, Lebanon, Mali, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey
GreeceSudan, Syria
ItalySenegal, Syria
LuxembourgGuinea, Guinea Bissau, Nepal, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Togo
NetherlandsCuba, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Nepal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria
PortugalGuinea, Senegal
SpainCameroon, Côte D’Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Jordan, Liberia, Mali, Sierra Leone, Syria, Togo
SwitzerlandSyria, Turkey


Other than the above-mentioned states, the following Schengen countries don’t need any transit visa from any country of the world except for the 12 third world countries that are mentioned above.

Lichtenstein Slovenia

source: European union site


                  HOTEL RESERVATION

Citizens Who Are Exempted From Gaining Schengen Airport Transit Visa?

Anyone who fulfills any one of the below-mentioned requirements doesn’t need to apply for Schengen Airport Transit Visa:

  • Uniform visa holder
  • Residence permit issue holder
  • Long-stay Schengen visa holder
  • Diplomatic passport holder

Third-country citizen having an unconditional readmission residence permit of the following states:

  • Andorra
  • Canada
  • Japan
  • San Marino
  • United States of America
  • Any Schengen Area state or the EU or the EEA (also for valid visa holders)
  • Third country citizen having a valid visa of Canada, Japan, or the USA that is not expiring from the time of the person’s return from the Schengen region to the visa issuing country
  • The flight crew on duty which lies under the Chicago Convention on International Civil Aviation (ICAO) contracting party
  • Family members of the Union National as per Article 1(2)(a) of the Visa Code

Documents Required When Applying for Airport Transit Schengen Visa:

When applying for the visa, you need to have the following documents:

The validity of Transit Schengen Visa

The airport transit Schengen visa has the validity of 24 hours only.

Is it allowed to leave the Airport vicinity with Airport Transit Schengen Visa?

No, it is not permissible to leave the airport or even stay at the airport for more than one day. You need to apply for a regular visa for that.